Thanksgiving eating

If you celebrate this holiday, what are your expectations after eating Thanksgiving Dinner?

It seems like most Americans expect to feel sleepy and “stuffed like a turkey”. People are always trying to justify eating Turkey or saying things like “I don't even like turkey (but I eat it anyway)...

Many years ago I shared these expectations.

I feel this is a mirror on the general eating habits and expectations of the average American.

But why?

I bought into this and accepted these same limitations for a long time. It's all I knew.

Thinking this way became the default. It was easy to follow, predictable and well accepted by those around me. I felt crappy after Thanksgiving dinner, jammed up and after I started drinking, hung over.

The drinking made me feel better while eating and helped ease stress I felt because of those around me. Then I felt even worse the next day though.

I feel grateful to have shifted my eating focus. I now focus on how I feel after I eat, instead of while I'm eating. It took a,while to make the shift. It remains a work in progress. I imagine it always will be...

Yet it's that shift that will allow me to not go comatose after today vegetarian dinner. I probably wake up early for a cycling workout, without regretting today's choices.

Quitting drinking helped too. You read more about that here.