Bentoism Introduction

First posted as my introduction here.

Hi Everyone 👋

Background

I'm Chris. I came across Bentoism via Yancey Strickler's Reboot podcast episode. I've been following Jerry Colonna's work since before there was a Reboot.

It's one of the very few podcasts I make space for on a regular basis. I'm also a current Reboot Founder's Circle member.

Why Bentoism

I've been thinking about this idea of financial gain being the ultimate arbiter of right and wrong in business for a while now. It had been present in my consciousness for a while. I've started to recognize it for what it is only over the past year.

Spending a year on a floor of a co-working space with real estate agents really brought this to light. Day-in and day-out, I was amazed and sometime appalled by how the pursuit of a $ justified every action they took.

I've been writing about a related topic, pursuing The Dream, on my blog, Just Rolling with It, for a while now. The blog's evolved to explore why we are so convinced that pursuing The Dream justifies so many other unhealthy decisions and trade-offs.

These decisions pull us in the opposite direction of self-coherence. I was going in this direction for most of my working life. Just Rolling with It started about 4-5 years ago. A few years into it, I realized that this career/life reboot was about aligning the work I do with my true self, as Parker Palmer refers to it.

I'm curious to explore Bentoism as I develop Chainflow. It's a company I'm building (and bootstrapping) that runs validators on cryptocurrency Proof of Stake networks.

Although the space is less than a year old, it's already showing signs of being driven primarily by the accumulation of financial assets. And this is in a space that's ostensibly about creating a more equitable distribution of wealth and power.

I'm feeling excited to find this group. I look forward to exploring, developing and furthering these ideas with each of you.